top of page

The female reproductive system

The female reproductive system is made up of 5 organs

The female reproductive system includes the uterus, cervix, vagina, fallopian tubes and ovaries.

  • Uterus (womb)

The uterus is a hollow pear-shaped organ in the middle of your pelvis where a baby develops. The uterus lining builds up ready for implantation and breaks down and sheds during a period when you are not pregnant.

  • Cervix

The cervix is the lower part of the uterus, the neck of the womb which opens into the vagina.

  • Vagina

The vagina is a muscular tube which connects the cervix to outside the body. The vagina is also known as the birth canal.

  • Ovaries

Ovaries are small, oval-shaped glands that are located on either side of the uterus. They produce eggs and hormones.

  • Fallopian tubes

Fallopian tubes are small tubes attached to the top of the uterus. An egg released from the ovary travels down the fallopian tube to the uterus.

Conditions that may affect the reproductive system

Many conditions can affect the female reproductive system such as

  • Endometriosis

  • Gynaecological cancers

  • Fibroids and cysts

  • Menstrual disorders

  • Menopause

  • PMS

How do I book a consultation?

You can book a consultation with Evi Bakali via her secretary or direct with Spire Healthcare.

Appointments are available via private medical insurance or paying for yourself. Click here for the most up to date self funding fees and for private medical insurance information.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page